

FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20463

BEFORE THE FEDERAL ELECTION COMMISSION

In the Matter of)	
Iowa Democratic Party and Ken Sagar in his official capacity as treasurer)	MUR 7826
Theresa Greenfield for Iowa and Theresa Kehoe in her official capacity as treasurer)	
Iowa Democratic Party and Ken Sagar in his official capacity as treasurer Rita Hart for Iowa and Sheila Spickermann in her official capacity as treasurer)))	MUR 7862

STATEMENT OF REASONS OF CHAIRMAN ALLEN J. DICKERSON, VICE CHAIR STEVEN T. WALTHER, COMMISSIONER SHANA M. BROUSSARD, COMMISSIONER SEAN J. COOKSEY, COMMISSIONER JAMES E. "TREY" TRAINOR, III, AND COMMISSIONER ELLEN L. WEINTRAUB

The Complaints in these matters alleged that the Iowa Democratic Party and Ken Sagar in his official capacity as treasurer ("IDP") paid to distribute campaign mailers supporting 2020 U.S. Senate candidate Theresa Greenfield and 2020 U.S. House candidate Rita Hart pursuant to the "volunteer materials exemption," but without sufficient volunteer involvement.¹

On May 26, 2022, we voted to dismiss this matter in an exercise of our prosecutorial discretion pursuant to *Heckler v. Chaney*, 470 U.S. 821 (1985).² Our decision was informed by the nature of the Complaints' principal source of evidence, which was an edited undercover video. By contrast, IDP's response attached evidence, including volunteer declarations, signature forms, and pictures, supporting its contention that Respondents were in compliance with the relevant rules. In these circumstances, we believed the Commission's resources could more appropriately be directed toward other enforcement matters.

¹ Compl., MUR 7826 (Iowa Democratic Party, *et al.*); Compl., MUR 7862 (Iowa Democratic Party, *et al.*).

² See Certification, MURs 7826 and 7862 (Iowa Democratic Party, *et al.*) (May 27, 2022) (recording the Commission's vote to dismiss the allegations pursuant to *Heckler v. Chaney* and close the file).

MUR782600153

July 28, 2022 Date

July 28, 2022 Date allafal

Allen J. Dickerson Chairman

Stoven Swalther

Steven T. Walther Vice Chair

Prousar

Shana M. Broussard Commissioner

Sean J. Cooksey

Commissioner

James E. "Trey" Trainor III Commissioner

Ellen L. Weintraul

Ellen L. Weintraub Commissioner